Boxford sends delegation of six to 2013 convention

Six Democrats will represent Boxford at next week’s 2013 annual Democratic state convention.  The convention will be held on Saturday, July 13 at the Tsongas Arena in Lowell.

Ken Thompson, Kerry Stickney and Judith Stickney will serve as delegates, and James Vogh and Jan John will be alternates.  Committee chair Marianne Rutter will attend as an ex officio delegate.

Kerry Stickney will be the Boxford delegation’s  second annual Franklin Pierce Pomroy Honorary Delegate, honoring the memory of deceased committee member Frank Pomroy of Mill Run Road.  [Scroll down for information about Frank Pomroy.]

The business of the convention will be devoted largely to debating and voting upon the proposed platform for the Massachusetts Democratic party.  Massachusetts’ stellar lineup of elected officials — including Gov. Deval Patrick, Senator Elizabeth Warren and newly elected Senator Edward Markey — are expected to address the convention.  Members of the Massachusetts congressional delegation, members of the state legislature, mayors and municipal officials from around the state will also be in evidence.  As a preview of things to come, candidates for statewide offices open in 2014 (notably governor and lieutenant governor) will be there to meet and mingle with delegates.

On the same day, the Massachusetts Democratic Party will also convene a special Youth Convention for high school age students from around the state.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: