Caucus elects 2014 Boxford delegation

February 26, 2014

Sixteen Boxford Democrats caucused at the Boxford Community Center on Saturday afternoon, March 2, to elect the town’s delegation to the Massachusetts Democratic Party’s June convention in Worcester

The caucus elected Cherie Hoyt, Jack Moriarty and Ken Thompson as delegates, and Barbara Jessell, Wally Anderson and James Vogh as alternates, to represent Boxford’s Democrats at the annual convention. Committee chair Marianne Rutter of King John Drive will attend in an ex officio capacity.

The newly-elected Boxford delegation then voted Jack Moriarty the third annual Franklin Pierce Pomroy Honorary Delegate, honoring the memory of deceased committee member Frank Pomroy of Mill Run Road.  (Scroll down for more information on Frank Pomroy, a much-admired and much-missed committee member.)

Congressman John Tierney also dropped in for the social hour before the caucus.  Also, one candidate, Seth Moulton, and aides for many other Democrats running for public office came to the caucus to represent their respective candidates and collect signatures on nomination papers.

The convention will be held on Friday and Saturday, June 13 and 14, at the DCI Center in Worcester.

The Boxford Democratic Town Committee then held a meeting at which it voted in two new members.  Its next meeting will be Wednesday, April 2, at the Boxford Community Center.